How you can tell when someone is seeing your text messages

People have love/hate relationships with messaging Read Receipts. If you’re not familiar with them, they’re those little alerts below messages that indicate that they have been seen or read by the other party.

When Read Receipt is turned on, people will be notified when you read the messages they’ve sent you. Vice versa, if it’s turned on on their side, you will be notified when they read your text.

It depends how you look at them.

Some people like these notifications because they give a sense of an immediate and urgent connection with others. Others hate them because they seem intrusive.

The common denominator is that Read Receipts force people to reply back as soon as possible and it depends if you see this as a good or bad thing.

Either way, it definitely has its worthwhile uses for keeping virtual conversations flowing. Parents can even use Read Receipts to keep tabs on their kids and have that assurance that each message sent is seen and, hopefully, replied to.

By Francis Navarro

See full story at www.komando.com

Leave a Reply